I'm new to the Tiger World!

chapron67

New forum user
Hello,

I have a number of interesting European cars and recently came across what is purportedly to be a 2 owner, very original Tiger, that even sports its original paint (which I'm always very skeptical of!). That said, it really does look amazing and hasn't been moved for 20+ years so I have a few questions that might help me figure it out.

It's a 1966 Mk1A...

1. the bolts that hold the bracket for the hood onto the frame -- should they be painted, or not? ie. when the painted the car new did these bolts go on before final paint, or after?
2. it has a little Chrysler logo on the bottom of the front passenger fender. Correct?
3. are there photos on the internet of the proper rivets for the JAL and VIN plate?
4. Was the JAL number plate painted over in body paint or screwed on after factory paint (ie. shiny metal)?
5. Did some cars have different brake boosters (up by the passenger bulkhead)? This one doesn't look like others in photos I've found of original cars.
6. The sticker on the valve cover with engine data is gone on the right side cover. Were they sometimes on the left cover?
7. is the hood stay painted or chromed?
8. it has rims that look like mini-lites but say Sunbeam Tiger V8 (with a dot between the V and the 8) with a image of a tiger on the left and a winner's flag on the right. Were these optional back in the day?

I'll have it checked out as an authentic Tiger after I determined it's in highly original condition.. anything else I should check? I can get the car on a lift.

Thanks!

HolyCat

Gold forum user
CAT Member
Some Answers

I can answer some of your questions, but will leave it to others where I am not 100% sure.
Hello,