My first 4/b

o2bdriving

Gold forum user
CAT Member
Seen the F-4bs at 200 to 400 bucks. Dale said he had a pile of Edelbrock performer's. I would not pay 600 for a repop Tiger scripted is it the brand name, Blue Thunder manifold but I think that's the base price .

received_624854058825662.jpeg

http://www.mustangtek.com/Intake/S1TS-9423-A.html
https://sunbeamtigerparts.com/listing/rare-sunbeam-tiger-shelby-intake/?recaptcha-opt-in=true

Last edited:

Austin Healer

Gold forum user
I've been running an F4B for 20 years. Even Shelby admitted to Edelbrock that his manifold was better than the SFM manifold... These (the F4B) average about $250 on Ebay... I use a Holley 1850-12, 600 CFM carb, vacuum sec., manual choke. I NEVER use the choke. I get 22 MPG as long as I'm not a 17 year old...

I did get one of the 465 CFM carbies from Holley... This was configured as a manual choke (cable).. But the biggest problem I had was, it was not set up for vacuum advance.... It was for a client's car. In the end, I reconfigured the carb with a different base plate so I could have a vacuum advance port and at the same time I set it up so it could be a "hot air" choke, instead of an electric choke, or manual choke. It ran, but was not what I would call "ideal"

In the end I opted for a 1850-12 (vac secondaries, cable choke) but modified it for the "hot air choke" as the car was a Mk1A but had a 5 bolt 289... The car ran great. I couldn't make it run for "shit" with the 465 cfm unit.

You have to remember... the leaner the mixture, the hotter the car is going to run....

Heat is the enemy!

hottigr

Gold forum user
CAT Member
First Tiger ran an F4B. Current Tiger runs an Edelbrock Performer RPM. Pretty darn close...

Warren

Gold forum user
If you are talking performance vs bling. I believe it's widely accepted that those pictures manifolds are merely lighter and cooler looking than their cast iron counterparts.