Things this Newbie has learned

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sgreg

Silver forum user
I am new to the Sunbeam Tiger but not to cars and old cars. I have learned a lot in the two months I have owned my Mk1A. First, if you decide to swap a 4 barrel Holley 1848, 465 CFM onto an Edelbrock manifold, the factory pump nozzle squirter is too small. The 465 CFM comes with a .025 nozzle. Replace it with a .031 and you will not have flat spots. Two, don't bother spending a ton of money on a restored Smiths 60mm clock. I did and mine worked two days and stopped. Get the one you like that doesn't work and convert it to quartz. Third: Don't buy any electric pump that mounts N-S. Puts the pump too close to the muffler. In fact, I am not convinced that any pump works better in a stock powered Tiger than the SU. Particularly if you want to talk in the cockpit. PO put in a Holley and it sounds like a meat grinder and creates more PSI than the car needs. Forth: 15 X 6 front wheels and 15 X 7 rear wheels can be used without any cutting or trimming. It's all about offset and backspace. Seems the debate about wheels goes on without resolution but I can tell you the sizes fit. I would not want to cut my car to make something work. Fifth, the K &N air filter is no better performer than a quality paper filter if the paper filter is changed on a schedule. If you want to save money on filters in the long run (the very long run ), buy the K & N and keep it cleaned and oiled. Having said all that, I enjoy the little car and it is nice to be able to work on something again that I actually can relate to.
Special thanks to all who have helped me get a handle on my new purchase and track down parts..

Warren

Gold forum user
Yes and no

On the clock pay a 100 bucks and send to get Jaguar clock guy to fix it will work as OG and is not altered to work in a different manner.

Too Tech

Bronze forum user
Sgreg,
There is way to much confusion on the wheel offset issue.